MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2009, 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Claudia Sarbit	Chairperson
	Evelyn C. Myskiw	Vice-Chairperson
	Gary J. Fogg	Trustee
	Teresa Jaworski	Trustee
	Cory Juan	Trustee
	Bill McGowan	Trustee
	Edward P. Ploszay	Trustee
	Dennis Ruggles	Trustee
	Richard Sawka	Trustee
IN ATTENDANCE	Brian O'Leary	Superintendent
	Duane Brothers	Assistant Superintendent
	Lydia Hedrich	Assistant Superintendent
	Edith Wilde	Assistant Superintendent
	Wayne Shimizu	Secretary-Treasurer
	Lydia Sheyka	Administrative Assistant

Wayne Shimizu in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:04 p.m.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee McGowan nominated Trustee Sarbit.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations be closed.

09B-001 - Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Sarbit was declared elected by acclamation Chairperson of the Board.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Juan nominated Trustee Myskiw.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

09B-002 - Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Myskiw was declared elected by acclamation Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS

SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sawka.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

09B-003 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – Seven Oaks Teachers' Association

Trustee Sawka was declared elected by acclamation, Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association.

CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS

CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee McGowan nominated Trustee Ruggles.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

09B-004 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - C.U.P.E.

Trustee Ruggles was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for C.U.P.E. Locals No. 731, 949, 2938.

September 14, 2009

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS

SEVEN OAKS PARAPROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION

Trustee Sawka nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

09B-005 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - S.O.P.A.

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association.

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES – STANDING COMMITTEES

09B-006 – Representatives to Other Bodies – Standing Committees

- Policy Manual Committee: Trustees Jaworski, Ploszay, and Juan.
- Workplace Safety and Health Committee: Trustee Ruggles, Trustee Jaworski (alternate).
- Accident Review Committee: Trustees Fogg and Juan.
- Board/SOTA Professional Development Committee: Trustees Sawka and Myskiw.
- Educational Leave Committee: Trustees Jaworski and Ruggles.
- Board-SOTA Advisory Committee: Trustees Juan, Sawka, McGowan.
- Board-Student Liaison Committee: Trustees Fogg and Ploszay.
- Negotiations Committees:
 - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association: Trustees Sawka (Chair), Ploszay and Juan.
 - Canadian Union of Public Employees, Locals #731, #949 and #2938: Trustees Ruggles (Chair), Myskiw and Sarbit.
 - Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association: Trustees Jaworski (Chair), McGowan and Fogg.

09B-007 – Representatives on External Committees

- City of Winnipeg Liaison: The Board will send the Chair.
- Metro Coordinating Committee: Trustees Sawka, Ruggles and Jaworski.

APPOINTMENTS

3m

09B-008 - Auditors

Myskiw/Juan That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2009-2010 school year be K.P.M.G. <u>Carried</u>

09B-009 - Solicitor

 Fogg/Ploszay

 That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis.

 Carried

09B-010 – Signing Officers

Jaworski/Ruggles That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or the Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

Carried

09B-011 – Ballots

No ballots were required.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:26 p.m.

Chairperson

Secretary-Treasurer